“The Single Story Creates Stereotypes”

In one of my favorite TED Talks, Chimamanda Adichie, a Nigerian author, speaks poignantly about the problem with the single story. She describes how when we learn only one perspective or meet only one person, we often allow that one interaction to become representative of the whole. We make everything black and white, refusing to acknowledge the many shades of gray. In doing so, we prevent ourselves from seeing the many facets that exist within a person, a community, a nation.

4 thoughts on ““The Single Story Creates Stereotypes”

  1. Nancy says:

    This is a really powerful talk. I could watch this over and over.

  2. Seth says:

    Crazy – I just watched this TED talk myself again last week. Definitely one of the best!

  3. mariaholloway says:

    Oh my goodness…I really like that quote! The single story…it’s so true!
    I’m incredibly intrigued, and will definitely check out her talk. Thanks for sharing!

  4. tkoesel says:

    Loved her talk! Thanks for sharing. It’s one of the best TED talks I’ve seen.

Leave a Reply

