Golfing Joys & Woes



20110823-064158.jpg


I started playing golf this summer. I joined for one respectable reason:  a whole new world of clothes and accessories. I’m not ashamed to admit it. Stop judging. I was once like you. Jim said he was going to buy a new pair of golf shoes earlier this summer, and in the interest of full disclosure I will say-at the time-I was mocking him or judging him. Ok both. Then, I saw him wearing them on the golf course, and everything changed. They were beautiful and he was beautiful, and a new passion was born.

The next weekend was my birthday, so you can guess what I wanted. Jim bought me my very first pair of Foot Joys. That’s right, the beautiful shoes? The brand name is Foot Joy. How perfect is that! Once I saw how cute the shoes could be, my eyes were opened to the beautiful plaid shorts, and the hats, and the gloves…sigh…life is wonderful. [Side note: so far, gotta say I’m not much a golf skirt girl, but never say never. Dang you, Justin Beiber.]

20110828-084129.jpg

As for the actual game, life has been a little less wonderful. Fun, yes. Awe inspiring, no. The top 8 things I wish I would have known before starting:

  1. Don’t chat with your golfing buddies while your other golfing buddy is swinging. Golfers get cranky.
  2. Don’t drive your cart on the fairway too close to the greens. Grounds people get cranky.
  3. Don’t believe that there will be a hidden talent miraculously unleashed in you the second you step out on the course.
  4. The golfers in your life don’t care that you have no apparent talent. They are just happy that you are out there trying. They will try and remind you of this often when you are having a meltdown.
  5. If your meltdown persists, they will say you are not allowed to hit another ball until you have a better attitude.
  6. Remember the first hole stinks if there is anyone watching you, and I mean anyone: men, women, children. Your pride does not discriminate. Actually, most holes stink when anyone is watching. Get over this fear as quickly as possible. Just be thankful when you don’t miss the ball entirely.
  7. Never golf with your father in law and your brother in law for the first time on a gigantic 18 hole course after only golfing for a month and only using 3 clubs. You will embarrass yourself and end up calling your sister in law to pick you up at the club house after only playing the first nine.
  8. Be thankful you have so many opportunities to learn humility.

20110828-084056.jpg

20110828-084115.jpg


11 thoughts on “Golfing Joys & Woes

  1. gymdeeds says:

    Don’t forget the final and most important thing to remember…we all suck at golf, some of us are just better at hiding it!

  2. Sarah says:

    I laughed so hard at this, Melissa. Especially the two rules concerning meltdowns. 🙂

    • gymdeeds says:

      I love that she’s so competitive! But I’ll give her some props…she has yet to throw a single club and I didn’t make through my first round before that happened.

      • Melissa says:

        Yea…some of the meltdowns…I feel like they must be reminiscent of my tantrums as a teenager. I feel very angst ridden or ready to burst into tears.

      • Rob says:

        Melissa, I’m glad I’m not the only one that throws tantrums! It’s definitely in our family, because Iris has thrown some doosies. And she hasn’t played golf yet!

  3. jon says:

    i love that i get a shout out in #7 and one of my pics makes the cut…i remember my first round on a real course…i shot a 140 and lost 2 dozen balls…it gets better but always just as frustrating

    • Melissa says:

      Can you imagine if I had counted all of my shots on the course that day! Eek! Good thing, I just kept picking up my ball. 🙂 One of these days, I’m going to give you three a run for your money. Granted, I might have to hit you with my club first, but I’ll get there.

  4. giannarae says:

    I love the real reason you started golfing! Go Melissa!

  5. Nancy says:

    I fully support taking up golf for wardrobe expansion. 🙂 Remember how bad the two of us were the first time we went golfing? eeek.

  6. Nicole says:

    I loved it!! It was all because of the two beautiful shoes 🙂 I cant wait to see more of your cute golfing outfits.

Leave a Reply

