Iron and Wine

 

You know when you listen to certain music it has this comforting, peaceful quality, and it doesn’t matter how many times you listen the feeling of being grounded and at home resonates so strongly it’s like chatting with an old friend.  Sam Beam’s music is like home to me.  That is the only way I can describe his music.  When I am feeling stressed out or overwhelmed, I listen to his music and I feel connected to myself once again.  Not only is Sam an amazing vocalist and guitarist, but his lyrics are like poetry.  I am drawn to Naked as we Came, not because it is particularly upbeat, but because of the reality and truth that is told within it.

 

 

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Iron and Wine

  1. Melissa says:

    I LOVE Iron and Wine. I completely agree with you that some music can make you “connected to yourself.” So good.

  2. Seth says:

    There is one line in the song “Passing Afternoon” that to this day both gives me the chills, and yet a sense of comfort. That line is: “There are things that drift away like our endless, numbered days” – I absolute know what you are saying about how his music makes you feel. Few are this good.

  3. Seth says:

    By the way, I found the extended concert for NPR that goes with this initial ‘short’ he did. It is an hour long!!! So good! Watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6X8j3nmqqkE

  4. Sarah says:

    Now, I recognize his voice, but I don’t know why. Hmmm. Oh wait, I just looked up Iron and Wine in our iTunes library… and we have 3 different albums by him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

