Colourful Flight

Jim and I went to the Air Expo on a delightfully hot day in July. I surprised him with tickets, and admittedly I wasn’t particularly invested in the joys of aviation. Much to my surprise, shortly after we arrived I found plane after plane with vibrant aesthetics, including this first colourful plane. Lynn O’Jala and her husband Denny O’Connell built it together.  Ten days after they finished their second plane, a twin to the one below, he passed away. It is absolutely tragic that his life ended so early, and yet it’s beautiful that he was able to fulfill his dream before he died. Even more incredible is that his wife was left with the lasting legacy of their love for one another.

20110822-114816.jpg

Plane 92

Photo Reflection

20110822-114726.jpg

20110822-114801.jpg

20110823-064907.jpgI’m thinking of putting some wheels like this on my Lancer.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Colourful Flight

  1. Seth says:

    Mel, I LOVE the pics – in particular the 1st one is amazing! Looks like a lot of fun.

  2. Nancy says:

    Who knew the iphone could be so cool…. Why did I get a droid again?

  3. Sarah says:

    My favorite is the photo of Jim taking a picture with you in the background. And I love your dress too- so pretty!

Leave a Reply

