Mourning in North Minneapolis: “The Women Gather”

As some of you may know, two young men-only boys actually-were killed in my neighborhood. The first happened over the weekend and the second last night. Before I moved here, I might have been able to forget and just thank God that it didn’t happen in my backyard or in my neighborhood, similar to how I often put out of my mind other atrocities happening in the world around me. But now that these killings did happen in my neighborhood and in my backyard, I’m forced to actually consider it. My heart aches for the mothers and families of these children. I can only imagine what they are experiencing right now. It’s shocking to think I might have interacted with these boys while walking the dogs. I’m still trying to wrap my head around it all, but I have discovered my thinking has changed. Regardless of where you live, shouldn’t we all feel collective responsibility? As MLK said, “Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” Often it seems that if we aren’t ignoring the oppression outright, we are blaming the victims. I hope I can become more active in the fight against injustices like these.

I saw Sweet Honey in the Rock perform the first song in the video clip below a few years ago. It came back to me today and it is quite fitting. The song is an ASL interpreted performance; however, the camera doesn’t stay on the interpreter so I included the lyrics below.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Mourning in North Minneapolis: “The Women Gather”

  1. Jim says:

    Well said. I hate when people hear about this stuff happening and think only “Wow! North is such a rough area. Why do you live there?” instead of thinking of it as part of their neighborhood and owning the responsibility to engage and be a part of fixing the problems that are killing OUR kids.

  2. giannarae says:

    Last night when they were reporting this on the news the reporter said, “We need tosee things in perspective.” Apparentely shootings/deaths are down by 19% from last year (or something like that). I looked at Chris and said, “That’s all well and good but ONE is too many!”
    I’m so glad you live in North Minneapolis because now I have people I love and know there. it makes these things much more personal.

  3. Nancy says:

    What a power video, and you are right about how applicable it is to this situation.

  4. Joy says:

    Thank you…wise words

Leave a Reply

