Lavender Galore

What do these Lavender fields in France have to do with….



this DELICIOUS Ice Cream Cone?

Lavender of course!

I recently was lucky enough to tour south central France during lavender season.  To be honest the whole experience was surreal.  I don’t think I have ever seen anything as beautiful as rows and rows of purple stretching across a rolling landscape.  A month before I left, I was obsessed with looking at photos online of all of the lavender I could potentially see during my visit.  All I could imagine was me running in fields of lavender.  Okay that was a bit dramatic, but all that to say, I had visions of me in these lavender fields.  Seth and I were telling the lady that owned the hotel, where we were staying, that we were planning on getting in the car and doing a tour of the lavender fields.  Under her breath she says, “they have been cut.”

Instantly, I was depressed because I had been thinking about these purple fields for months.  As you can see, they were not cut, and many of the fields were blooming magnificently.  Now, you are probably wondering how lavender and ice cream go together.  Well, after my trip I was sick of going to the same ice cream places in town.  I decided to venture out and try a new ice cream parlor.  Lo and  behold tucked away in South Minneapolis is the best ice cream in the cities, and they make this delicious, understated lavender flavored ice cream.  If you live in Minneapolis and you have not tried Pumphouse Creamery, try their ice cream. You will not regret it! Another flavor that they are famous for is their sea salt and carmel ice cream. One word: YUM

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “Lavender Galore

  1. Sarah says:

    Oh, now I want ice cream! Not the Skinny Cow sandwiches that are in my freezer, but some REAL ice cream, preferably the sea salt and caramel variety! Beautiful photos, Nancy. I’m totally wanting to visit France now.

    • Nancy says:

      France was so beautiful. Everyone always says that people in France are mean and they hate Americans. It is simply not true. Everyone was so nice and hospitable. Next time you and Rob are in town we are so going to get some ice cream!! I promise! 🙂

  2. mariaholloway says:

    Nancy – these pics are amazing!

  3. Melissa says:

    Those fields are incredible! I can’t believe you were able to see them in person. I can’t wait to try out the ice cream!

Leave a Reply

