American Sign Language Colourized My World

I am being sappy. I am aware. But really, has that ever stopped me?

I went to the Children’s Museum in Saint Paul earlier this summer and snapped this photo. I keep coming back to it, and finally I realized why. It reminds me of how much I am indebted to the Deaf Community and the gift of American Sign Language (ASL). Almost every good thing that I’m experiencing professionally and even personally has been a direct result of the impact that both have had in my life. Whether or not I am an interpreter for the remainder of my days is inconsequential, I am forever grateful that I get to be a part of this amazing community of people. Group Hug!
20110812-070239.jpg

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “American Sign Language Colourized My World

  1. Sarah says:

    I was there when you took this photo- hee hee! I’m so proud of you, Melissa, for your accomplishments as an ASL interpreter. I remember you being afraid you might not make it, back when I met you- but you did it! Love you!

  2. Jenee Petri says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Well said. Beautiful shot.

  3. Jim says:

    Great shot!

  4. Jim says:

    By the way, I love the way you write! It gives me another way to see all the deep, beautiful ways you look at the world!

  5. Maria says:

    What a beautiful message (and photo), Melissa!

  6. Nancy says:

    It is true that ASL is a gift. The language and Deaf community has allowed me to see things from so many different vantage points. I guess I could say I am a more well rounded person because of my experiences in the Deaf and interpreting community. Also, we NEVER stop learning! I’m learning more and more everyday what it means to be an ally.

  7. Cheryl says:

    Love it! I agree.

Leave a Reply

