Failure and Imagination

I owe it to my nephew and niece that I devoured the Harry Potter series as a thirty year old. I can hardly believe that when the first book came out I was already in college. At the time, I dismissed the books outright. I was scared of magic and the dark side of the stories. I was wrong on both counts. The stories include many universal truths that children and adults can personally relate to. The characters have found their way into my heart-even Snape!

In fact, I still think about the characters on occasion, and yes, I even wonder about their emotional health considering all that they have lost. After finishing the last book and now the last movie, I feel a bit like I lost a group of friends. So finding a link on TED to JK Rowling’s commencement address for Harvard was a bit like a reunion for me. Her talk is completely inspiring and well worth your 21 minutes. Unfortunately, it is not captioned, but I did find the transcript!

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Failure and Imagination

  1. Rob says:

    Sarah and I saw the last film Friday night. It was great! Really clever story telling and wrapping up of the loose ends. I was wanting to see a bit more of Harry’s internal thinking as he held V’s wand at the end. He didn’t seem to have a hard time with that decision. Oh well, I’m sure the book fleshed that out better.

    I’ll definitely check out this TED!

  2. Catharine says:

    J.K. Rowling has inspired me to do more to change the world and to make a difference. Thank you so much for sharing this video!! I had heard about how marvelous this address was, and now I have finally heard it, thanks to you. I loved what she said about friendship too.

  3. Sarah says:

    I can just now understand the bit about Snape, after seeing the final movie. 🙂 I definitely want to read the books at some point- or maybe I’ll listen on audiobook! I’ve heard great things about the reader and the voices he does.

Leave a Reply

