The Indomitable Spirit of the May Day Parade

My favorite part of living in Minnesota is the way we embrace spring. I tell myself if it didn’t get this cold, I wouldn’t appreciate spring nearly as much. Every May 1st, the Heart of the Beast Puppet and Mask Theatre welcomes spring along with thousands of others at their annual May Day Parade. This was my third time attending, and it was by far the coldest. I was wearing long underwear. We had snow flurries. Still, the artistry of the costumes, the floats, and the music made the three layers of blankets worth it. I was completely inspired.  Please, the people and dog watching alone kept me entertained during the blustery day!

(Nancy, Joby, and I took the pictures below.)

   



2 thoughts on “The Indomitable Spirit of the May Day Parade

  1. Sarah says:

    Wow, so many cool costumes! I like the people on stilts dressed in red- they look like fire to me! Where were Willy and Fairly?

  2. Jim says:

    Great pics guys!

Leave a Reply

