Albert Einstein and Balance

I’ve been asking many of my friends and family lately about how they achieve balance in their lives. I struggle with the tension between being peacefully mindful and being an achiever. I can’t seem to figure out how to do both simultaneously and I don’t even have kids! I don’t believe they are mutually exclusive, but as of yet I’ve not been able to live it out in practice. It doesn’t help that my mind wanders so easily. 

In times like these, I often turn to my trusty friend, Google. I wonder if the Google employees ever do case studies on certain profiles. I’m sure it would be highly entertaining and maybe a tad scary in some situations. My profile would probably show a high number of searches for how tall certain actresses are (Minnie Driver is 5’10”!) and for what diseases or mental illnesses do I have now (nope, just a headache with a dash of anxiety).

I digress. Clearly my mind jumping around is not helping my quest for balance. I did find these quotes from Albert Einstein. It makes sense too. If he can balance equations, he should be able to balance a life. That, is a terrible joke. Gasp, Google just told me that could mean I have Witzelsucht, an abnormal propensity for telling humorless jokes at inappropriate times. Ah well. 


5 thoughts on “Albert Einstein and Balance

  1. Jim says:

    You are hilarious! 🙂

  2. Rob Lund says:

    Hehe, made me grin. Thanks for helping me start my Thursday off right. 😉

    Couldn’t agree more, by the way. Sometimes I swear I have adult ADD! And you’re right that this topic is as relevant to people with or without kids in their lives. That being said, for me right now, it’s especially topical to be present and in the moment.

  3. Sarah says:

    I like that last quote! And I don’t think you have ADD; you just have Google syndrome. I swear, just one simple query on the internet can send me down a 2-hour tangent that I never expected!

Leave a Reply

