The Colourful Synergy of The Civil Wars

My friend Christa and I went to The Civil Wars concert today at the Varsity Theater in Dinkytown, and we were both completely blown away. Their recordings are amazing, but I actually think they are even better in person. The two artists have these incredible harmonies that just melt in your mouth like chocolate. As my pal Nicole likes to say, “They’re so good, I wanna slap their mamma.”

Incredibly, they’ve only known each other for the last two years. They met each other at a writer’s workshop where they discovered the synergy of their combined musical styles. If you have a chance to see them, I highly encourage it. You will not be disappointed.

I also can thank them for teaching me another musical lesson. Did you know Michael Jackson sang Billie Jean? I know. You’re shaking your head in disbelief. Let me at least say in my defense that had it actually been Michael singing it, I would have known. They really did a lovely cover and look at that–they contributed to my musical education.

They will be playing at the Newport Folk Festival in July. Road trip anyone?

3 thoughts on “The Colourful Synergy of The Civil Wars

  1. Jim says:

    Wow! That was great! I’m jealous I didn’t get to go with you!

  2. Sarah says:

    Okay, I haven’t listened to this yet, but I fully intend to when I get a chance tomorrow. You know I trust your musical taste!

  3. Nancy says:

    Addicted.

Leave a Reply

