my colourful niece

My sweet little niece, Brenna, turned 11 today. Oh my. How did this happen? I actually remember when she was born. I was student teaching fifth graders at the time and I remember proudly telling my students about her the day after I met her in the hospital. Now, SHE’s the fifth grader. I’m sure SHE isn’t putting “kick me” signs on her teachers, like my students did, but … that’s another story.

Brenna’s a magnificent kid–completely creative and energetic. Plus, she has this sensitive side, that makes you want to cry. When my dogs were stolen, she gave me two little teddy bears to cuddle up with while the pups were still missing. And she has this killer sense of humor which always takes me by surprise. I was never that quick witted when I was eleven. Heck I’m not that way now!

Recently she got an email account, and she’s started sending the family messages on occasion. I love them. They are always bright and cheery. Last week after I was declared the winner (thank you, Kentucky) of our family NCAA bracket contest, Brenna and I had the following colourful email exchange:

To which I responded with the appropriate thanks, and that I had no idea how she made her emails have such fancy backgrounds. Love the last sentence of her response. A girl after my own heart.

Happy Birthday, Brenna! I love you!


6 thoughts on “my colourful niece

  1. Nancy says:

    I can’t believe she is in 5th grade!!! I know the most recent picture i saw of her took me by surprise! She is all grown-up! Happy Birthday Brenna!!! You have a great family that loves you! 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    So sweet! I love how she says that she wanted you to win. And wow, you & your brother had the touch this yer when it comes to NCAA brackets! 🙂 He won his office pool.

  3. Jim says:

    Brenna definitely is a keeper!

  4. Brenna says:

    Thank you mellissa!you are soo awesome (I’m still happy u won!)!!!!!!!!!!!! Luv ya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Rob says:

    Dang, that’s some cute stuff.

Leave a Reply

