burst of colour in the barrio

As far as I can tell, there is only one major drawback to the coming of spring: crusty snow mounds. The piles of snow seem to take on a stalagmite-like quality. Clinging to the earth in a last ditch effort to retain its status, the snow mingles with sand and dirt and any other remnant of trash taken hostage by shovels and snow plows. So while I’m grateful for spring, I am able to enjoy my morning walk with the dogs by reminding myself to look at the hopeful blade of grass rather than the stubborn snowy sediment.

This morning would have been no exception. In fact, the morning even seemed a bit more bleak considering the drop to below freezing temperatures-yet again.  Much to my surprise as the dogs and I turned onto Plymouth we were greeted by a wide array of vibrant sticks, strewn with streamers happily flapping in the wind rebelling against the grey skies.

I later learned that the Plymouth Avenue Art Studio was involved with this youth art project, “Dream Sticks,” which celebrated Black History Month and commemorated Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech. Yet again, I am reminded of the effect we can have in our communities through the use of art. My thanks to the artists who created the pieces below and inspired me this morning.

 


3 thoughts on “burst of colour in the barrio

  1. nmramer says:

    Nice Pics! I love your DOF! 🙂 They really are a surprising ray of sunshine!

  2. nmramer says:

    Seriously, you need to frame these. I want to frame them! They are so beautiful!! 🙂

  3. Jim says:

    I love the line “the snow mingles with sand and dirt and any other remnant of trash taken hostage by shovels and snow plows.” That was a fun photo-walk! We should take photo-walks more often!

Leave a Reply

