The Scream: Creativity and Anxiety

Norwegian artist, Edvard Munch, created “The Scream” in spite of or perhaps because of his own admitted bouts with anxiety. I find this oddly comforting. I certainly have no delusions of grandeur: painting a masterpiece, writing a novel. And yet from a simple creativity perspective, perhaps rather than viewing my own melancholia as a weakness, I can instead channel it into something that is authentic and meaningful.


 

“My whole life has been spent walking by the side of a bottomless chasm, jumping from stone to stone.

Sometimes I try to leave my narrow path and join the swirling mainstream of life,

but I always find myself drawn inexorably back towards the chasm’s edge,

and there I shall walk until the day I finally fall into the abyss.

For as long as I can remember I have suffered from a deep feeling of anxiety

which I have tried to express in my art.

Without anxiety and illness I should have been like a ship without a rudder.”

— Edvard Munch

 

 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “The Scream: Creativity and Anxiety

  1. nmramer says:

    I had no idea he was norwegian! Sometimes I feel like that on the inside……..

Leave a Reply

